Content Management System Review

Well-organized teaching and learning are my passions, so this week I geeked-out when we learned about well-designed content management systems (CMS), or the platforms designed for online education. After exploring a few different ones, such as Blackboard Coursesites, Moodle, Canvas, and Edmodo, I’m going to explore in-depth the CMS with which I am most familiar: Desire2Learn, which I use for my study at MSU. In particular, I’m looking at how the features within D2L could pertain to assessment. I’m sure I’ll come to understand more about these types of systems when I take CEP820 in the future.

My goal is to look into every feature of D2L, describe it briefly, list assessment implications, and explain affordances and constraints that I see. You will find a few screenshots below of the various drop-down menus available in D2L. Click on the numbers to read more about each feature. And comment below if you more ideas about how these features could be utilized for formative assessment! 

Homepage

 

Course Tools

 

Assessments

 

Communication

Leave a comment